Grown Diamond Corporation

The 4C's of Diamond Grading-All You Need to Know | Grown Diamond Corp.

4C's Diamond Grading

While buying a diamond, have you ever wondered if the diamond is real or not? Whether your diamond’s actual worth is equal to the amount you paid for it? Well, most diamond shoppers go through this doubt.


And that’s what brings us to diamond grading 4Cs. Every diamond is graded based on the 4Cs – color, cut, clarity, and carat. In this blog, we’ll take you through the 4Cs and what they really mean.


What is diamond grading?


Diamond grading is the process of evaluating the different qualities of individual diamonds. Diamonds are graded on the 4Cs of diamonds — cut, color, clarity, and carat. Diamond grading is a highly technical and skilled process. It requires, not just mastery and thorough knowledge, but also special equipment to help in the process of grading.


Why is diamond grading required?


Real diamonds made in laboratories and those mined from the earth are an expensive item. It is important to assess its quality and grade it. The grading report is like a proof of the diamond’s quality characteristics. Diamond merchants and retailers provide the diamond grade certificate to customers. The report includes details about the diamond color, clarity, cut, and carat. This report is almost like a certificate of confidence and trust for customers.


What are the 4C’s of diamond grading?


The 4Cs of diamonds are cut, color, clarity, and carat. Let’s understand each of these factors in detail.


Rough diamonds have to be cut to give them the desired shape. But cut doesn’t just refer to the shapes – round, oval, heart, pear, etc. The quality of the cut is determined by the angles, facets, proportions, and finishing. Cut is the most important factor as it affects the brilliance and performance of the diamond. The quality of the cut of a diamond determines how well it will reflect light. A diamond with a high quality cut has better brilliance, sparkle and fire.

Cut is one of the most difficult factors to assess and grade. Cutting a diamond to the highest quality requires skilled workmanship as it involves factors such as proportion, symmetry, polish, etc.



Diamonds may look colorless to the naked eye, but when examined closely, they have subtle shades. The color of diamonds is graded alphabetically, starting from D. D is considered a perfect color for a diamond. Moving down to E, F, G, H, and so on, the diamond color starts to get yellow or brownish.

Here’s a chart shared by GIA on its website that explains the diamond color scale and the associated grading.



Clarity is another of the 4Cs of diamonds. Real diamonds such as those that are grown in laboratories, go through processes that include heat, pressure, high temperature and chemical reactions. These processes can lead to inclusions (internal characteristics) and blemishes (external characteristics).

Diamonds that are graded high on clarity are those that do not have any inclusions or blemishes. Flawless diamonds do not have any imperfections. Grading diamond clarity involves assessing the number, size, nature, and position of inclusions and blemishes. However, it is rare to find a diamond that has perfect clarity without any inclusions and blemishes. The higher the clarity of a diamond, the higher its value.


Carat weight

The last of the 4Cs of diamond is carat weight. Carat is the weight of the diamond. One carat is 0.200 gram. Each carat can be subdivided into 100 points. Diamonds can be of different sizes. Large diamonds are rare and well as bigger than small diamonds, and hence they are of larger carat weight. As the carat weight increases, the diamond’s monetary value increases, too.

However, carat weight alone does not determine the value of a diamond. For example, say there are two diamonds — one is a 1-carat diamond and the other is a ½ carat diamond. It is possible that the ½ carat diamond’s monetary value could be more than that of the 1 carat diamond. Why? Because of the other Cs of the 4Cs – color, clarity, and cut.


Wrap up


Now you know the basics of the 4Cs of diamonds – cut, color, clarity, and carat. And most probably will be able to make a more informed choice the next time you set off to purchase a real lab grown diamond online.

© 2023 Grown Diamond Corporation - Lab Grown Diamonds. All rights reserved.| Sitemap